Employers who fail to remit pension contributions within the prescribed time shall be charged penalties under Section 8(4) of the Statutory and Local Authorities Pensions Act 1980 (Act 239). Penalties are charged at the rate 0.5% in respect of each month default in payment for the amount remains unpaid.

Computation of penalties :​

 ​ ​​​